Boys Will Be Boys: The Glory Days and Party Nights of the Dallas Cowboys Dynasty (Paperback)

Boys Will Be Boys: The Glory Days and Party Nights of the Dallas Cowboys Dynasty By Jeff Pearlman Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 22 7:46pm


New York Times bestseller

From celebrated sports writer Jeff Pearlman, author of The Bad Guys Won, a rollicking, completely unabashed account of the glory days of the legendary Dallas Cowboys

They were called America's Team. Led by Emmitt Smith, the charismatic Deion "Prime Time" Sanders, Hall of Famers Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin—and lorded over by swashbuckling, power-hungry owner Jerry Jones and his two hard-living coaches, Jimmy Johnson and Barry Switzer—the Cowboys seemed indomitable on the football field throughout the 1990s. Off the field the 'Boys were a dysfunctional circus, fueled by ego, sex, drugs, and jaw-dropping excess. What they achieved on game day was astonishing; what they did the rest of the week was unbelievable.

Boys Will Be Boys is the story of the Dallas Cowboys in their prime—a team of wild-partying, out-of-control glory-hounds that won three Super Bowls in four years and earned their rightful place in sports lore as the most beloved and despised dynasty in NFL history.

About the Author

Jeff Pearlman is a columnist for, a former Sports Illustrated senior writer, and the critically acclaimed author of Boys Will Be Boys, The Bad Guys Won!, and Love Me, Hate Me.

Praise For…

“It’s tempting to call Boys Will Be Boys the real-life sequel to North Dallas Forty. But in fact, it’s more than that. With immaculate reporting, Jeff Pearlman has constructed a marvelous rise and fall narrative. Here’s the truth about America’s team delivered in a profane page-turner—entertaining, enlightening, and where you least expect it, inspiring. Put another way: This book rocks.” — Mark Kriegel, New York Times bestselling author of Pistol and Namath

“The Cowboys of the 1990s had everything: great players, great characters, great parties, great hair. Now, finally, they have the great writer to tell their story. Jeff Pearlman has written a rip-roaring book filled with terrific reporting and vibrant prose. To appreciate football’s modern era in all its crazy glory, you’ve got to read Boys Will Be Boys. It’s a flat-out winner.” — Jonathan Eig, New York Times bestselling author of Opening Day and Luckiest Man

“Jeff Pearlman is an insider’s insider. With vivid details that place you in the Dallas huddle – and in the team hotel rooms - Pearlman expertly peels the hedonistic layers off the unforgettable characters of the dynastic Cowboys, taking you on a raucous and reflective joyride behind the color, chaos and karma of America’s team in the ‘90s.” — Selena Roberts, columnist, Sports Illustrated

“Just when I thought I knew all the inside info from the glory days of the ‘90s, along comes Jeff Pearlman with this look back. A truly great read.” — Randy Galloway, columnist, Fort Worth Star-Telegram

“A gritty, no-holds barred portrait.” — Barry Horn, The Dallas Morning News

“Jeff Pearlman does a masterly job of exposing the ‘90s Cowboys as shameless frauds and adulterers, sex addicts, and drug fiends.” — John Gonzalez, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061256813
ISBN-10: 0061256811
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: August 18th, 2009
Pages: 416
Language: English